"Cleric kits" are optional bundles of rules that someone with Cleric Magic may choose in order to give their character some powers that are particularly appropriate to the clergy of a particular god. Each god's description lists the details of that god's kit.
By choosing a kit, the cleric gains the bonuses listed, but must accept the limitations:
- The kits may require that you purchase skills or take disadvantages. While you do receive the points for any disadvantages you take as part of a Cleric kit, they do not count towards your character's disadvantage total.
- If a kit lists a Mage spell as "allowed," that means that a cleric with the kit gains access to that spell as if it were a Cleric spell of the same level. Combat spells that are "allowed" share the clerical exception to the "hands-free" rule, and the cleric may use countermagic on them normally.
- If a kit changes a spell's cost, its level stays the same. That is, you still require the same level of Cleric Magic in order to be able to cast it; it just costs fewer spell points when you do so. Changing a spell's cost also changes the costs to counter and fortify that spell.
- If a Combat spell normally available to clerics is prohibited, this also means that the cleric may not use countermagic on that spell (as it is no longer in that cleric's spell book).
- If the kit says you get a spell "free," then you may cast that spell the specified number of times per day without having to spend any spell points. However, you must be a caster of at least the same level as the free spell in order to use this bonus.
Purchase of a kit should be noted on your character sheet, and a kit may not be "shed" without good reason (such as renouncing one's god, which is apt to get you in a whole other mess of trouble anyway).