Magic, Mystic (3 points per level)
Prerequisite: Mystic Initiation
A mystic is a different form of spell caster from a mage or cleric. You are guided by an internal, intuitive process rather than through rituals and memorization. You invoke your powers through unusual methods or even your own power.
Unlike mages or clerics, mystics do not have a large list of spells they can cast at each level. Instead, you have a fixed spell list, which you must choose. With each level, you add more spells to your spell book. Moreover, mystic spells are divided into paths to reflect your particular training and background; as such, you should have a thought-out character history for the mystic.
You may place three spells into your spell book per level of Mystic Magic. However, you may take a spell on a path only if you already have all the lower-level spells on that path. That is, you may not take the third-level spell on a particular path unless you already have the first-level and second-level spells of that path in your book.
You must have at least one path in which you have taken a number of spells equal to or greater than your level of Mystic Magic.
Notes about Mystic Magic
- You must manufacture your own personal spell book, since the standard spell books are inadequate for a mysticís spell lists.
- You may take spells that are one level higher than your level of Mystic Magic. However, these spells are only available through up-casting.
- The spell point cost for casting a mystic spell is equal to the level of the spell on the mystic paths, not the level on the mage or cleric lists.
- Your spells retain all of the characteristics that they normally have when cast through Mage or Cleric Magic, except their level. (They retain their original name, effect, range, etc.)
- You can fortify or nullify any spell in your spell book according to the rules for meta-magic.
- PC mystics may not have Safe Retreat spells or healing spells of seventh level or higher.
Customizing Mystic Paths
If one of the spell paths does not include a spell that is appropriate to your character concept, you may substitute it for one currently on the path lists. The spell must be placed in an appropriate list and cannot duplicate a spell in another list. The level of the spell on that path must be at least one level higher than the mage or cleric version of that spell. (So if you wish to add a fifth-level cleric spell, it must be placed at level six or above on a mystic path.) If no path seems appropriate for the spell, you must place it in the Path of the Mystic.